World cup winner

The FIFA World Cup is the most prestigious competition in world football, with the best national teams from across the globe competing for the honour every four years.

Initially, only men’s teams competed at the quadrennial showpiece. The women’s FIFA World Cup was introduced in 1991.

Since the inaugural competition in 1930, when it was called the Jules Rimet Trophy, the men’s FIFA World Cup has produced eight different champions in 21 editions.

Brazil, Germany, Italy, Argentina, France, Uruguay, England and Spain have won the FIFA World Cup trophy.

Brazil have lifted the World Cup a record five times – 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002. They are also the only team to compete in all 21 editions.

Nicknamed ‘La Selecao’, Brazil are also the most successful men’s team in the World Cup in terms of matches played (109), matches won (73) and goals scored (229).

When Brazil won the title for the first time in 1958, legendary striker Pele came to the fore. He scored six goals in that edition, including two in the final against Sweden.

During his illustrious career, Pele went on to win three FIFA World Cups – 1958, 1962 and 1970 – and remains the only player to achieve this feat to date.

Hot on the heels of Brazil in the list of most FIFA World Cup wins are Germany and Italy, winning the trophy four times each.

While Germany won it in 1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014, Italy were the champions in 1934, 1938, 1982 and 2006.

Germany’s run in the World Cup can be divided into three periods, Germany pre World War II, West Germany and the present-day reunified Germany. However, all three are considered one nation in the record books.

The European giants have also finished among the top three a record 12 times, including four second-place finishes.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button